Phasing out of non-Machine Readable Passports

The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) has set a deadline of 24th November 2015 for globally phasing out all non-Machine Readable Passports (MRPs).  From 25th November 2015 onwards, foreign governments may deny visa or entry to any person travelling with a non-MRP passport.

All handwritten passports with pasted photos earlier issued by Government of India are considered non-MRP Passports.  All 20-year validity passports will also fall in this category.  The Government started issuing MRP passports since 2001.  All new Indian passports are ICAO-compliant MRP passports. Indian citizens residing in India and abroad and holding handwritten passports as well as 20-year passports with validity beyond 24th November   2015, should, therefore, apply for re-issue of passports and obtain MRP passports well before the deadline in order to avoid any inconvenience in obtaining foreign visa or immigration problem.

Embassy of India Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia