java script is required for this page
India Afghanistan Foundation

India Afghanistan Foundation

India-Afghanistan Foundation (IAF) is a trust fund setup by the Governments of India and Afghanistan which finances projects aimed at fostering India-Afghanistan relations through enhancement of economic, scientific, educational, technical as well as cultural cooperation. IAF was established in April 2007 with the signing of MOU between India and Afghanistan, with the objective of fostering Indo-Afghan relations through the enhancement of economic, scientific, educational, technical and cultural cooperation and the promotion of greater understanding between the peoples of the two countries.

The management and direction of the Foundation are vested in a Board of Directors consisting of 10 members.

Ambassador of India to Afghanistan in Kabul and Ambassador of Afghanistan to India in New Delhi are the Co-Chairpersons of the Board. The other eight members are nominated by the two Governments. The present composition of the Board of Directors of the Foundation is as follows:

Shri Rudrendra Tandon, Co-Chairperson
Ambassador of India to Afghanistan

Mr. Tahir Qadiry, Co- Chairperson
Charge d’Affaires of Afghanistan to India

Amb Jayant Prasad, Member (India)
Former Ambassador of India to Afghanistan

Lt. Gen. Syed Ata Hasnain, Member (India)
Visiting Fellow of the Vivekananda International Foundation, New Delhi and Senior Fellow with Delhi Policy Group

Dr. C. Raja Mohan, Member (India)
Head, Strategic Study and Distinguished Fellow, Observer Research Foundation

Amb Gautam Mukhopadhaya
Former Ambassador of India to Afghanistan

Asst. Prof. Rafiullah Niazi, Member    (Afghanistan)
Director, Academy of Sciences

Mr. Abdul Khaleq Rashid, Member (Afghanistan)
Former professor to Kabul University and current professor to JNU

Mr. Noor Agha Noori
Director, Archeological Institute of Afghanistan

Mr. J.P. Singh, Ex-officio member/Convenor (India)
Joint Secretary, PAI Division, MEA

Mr. Maihan Saeedi
Director General, First Pol Department, MoFA

The Board is assisted by Secretaries in Kabul and New Delhi, comprising an official of the respective Embassy, who serves as the Secretary.

Mr. Sanjaykumar Sutar, Secretary
First Secretary (Political)

Mr. Abdulhaq Azad, Secretary
Embassy of Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, New Delhi


The thrust areas identified for promoting understanding and cooperation are:

  • Education & Culture
  • Archeological Studies
  • Agricultural Research
  • Science & Technology
  • Health
  • Technical Training
  • Developmental Studies
  • Women’s Studies


Programmes of the Foundation

  • Facilitating visits and exchanges between India and Afghanistan of scholars, academics, professionals, artists and experts involved in areas of activities covered by the Foundation.
  • Assisting activities such as seminars, symposia, colloquia and workshops on subjects of common interest.
  • Extending financial support to those non-governmental organizations both in India and Afghanistan whose work facilitates achievement of the objectives of the Foundation.
  • Contributing towards publication of standard works on India-Afghanistan relations in specified fields.
  • Encouraging the translations of the standard works of Afghanistan literature into Indian languages and vice-versa and arranging for their publications.


The IAF board meetings held so far:

  • The first board meeting of IAF was held on 10-11 March 2008 in New Delhi.
  • The second board meeting was held on 19-20 February 2009 in New Delhi.
  • The third board meeting was held on 28-29 June 2009 in Kabul.
  • The fourth meeting was held on 24-25 February 2010 in New Delhi.
  • The fifth board meeting was held on 15-17 September 2011 in Kabul.
  • The sixth board meeting was held on 21 January 2012 in New Delhi
  • The seventh board meeting was held on 19th October 2013 in Kabul
  • The eighth board meeting was held on 11 March 2016 in Delhi.
  • The ninth board meeting was held on 18 October 2016 in Kabul.
  • The tenth board meeting was held on 24 July 2017.
  • The eleventh board meeting was held on 24 December 2018 in New Delhi.
  • The twelfth board meeting was held on 18 August 2019 in Kabul


The proposals are invited from the interested persons/institutions/organizations for the projects/activities in the fields mentioned above. The projects/activities may be sponsored by India-Afghanistan Foundation (IAF) depending upon the utility and viability of the projects.



Contact Details:

Mr. Sanjaykumar Sutar, Secretary
First Secretary (Political)

MEA App Facebook Twitter YouTube