java script is required for this page
Bilateral Relations  

Visits from India to Mongolia

High Level Visits:-

  • Prime Minister: Shri Narendra Modi Paid a State visit from 16-18 May 2015.
  • Presidents: Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil (28-30 July, 2011); R.Venkataraman in July 1988.
  • President Vice-Presidents Dr. S. Radhakrishnan (1957); Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (April 1992); Shri KR Narayanan (September 1996); Shri Krishan Kant (August 1999); Shri Hamid Ansari (July 2016)
  • Lok Sabha Speaker Dr. G.S. Dhillon (July 1974); Dr. Balram Jakhar (October 1985); Shri Shivraj Patil (July 1995); Shri P.A.Sangma (October 1997), Shri GMC Balayogi (July 2001); Mrs. Meira Kumar (27-30 June 2010); and Mrs. Sumitra Mahajan (18-22 April 2016)
  • External Affairs Minister: Shri Y.B Chavan (July 1976); Smt. Sushma Swaraj (April 2018)
  • Deputy Chairperson of Rajya Sabha Smt. Najma Heptulla in July 1999.
  • Minister of State: Col. (Retd.) Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Visited from 28-31 July 2015;

Other Visits:-

  • Ambassador Leela K. Ponappa, Chairperson, CSCAP Visited on 20 - 24 October 2015  regarding 44th Streering Committee Meeting of CSCAP and 10th General Conference of CSCAP held in Ulaanbaatar. Mr. D.K. Pathak, DG BSF visited from 17-21 August 2015 and had meeting with GABP, Mongolia.
  • Defence delegation led by Mr. Suresh Kumar, JS (PIC) visited from 20-21 August 2015 to participate in 7th India-Mongolia Joint Working Group on Defence Cooperation.
  • National Human Rights Commission delegation led by Justice Cyriac  Joseph, Acting Chairperson visited in 26-28 August 2015 to participate in 20th Annual General Meeting and Biennial Conference of Asia Pacific Forum (APF)
  • A delegation led by Dr. Varshney from BARC visited Mongolia to participate in the 3rd JWG meeting on Atomic Energy from 29-31 March 2017. The delegation was hosted by the Mongolian Nuclear Energy Commission [NEC] which also organized visits to the National Cancer Centre in UB and to one of the uranium sites in Dornogobi province.
  • A delegation led by Shri Kamal Kishore, Secretary, NDMA participated in the UNISDR Asia Partnership Conference on Disaster Management hosted jointly by the UN and the Mongolian NEMA in Ulaanbaatar (5-7 April 2017).
  • A delegation led by Shri Bhullar, Director General, Civil Aviation, Government of India visited Ulaanbaatar on 6 Aug 2017 to take part in 54th Conference of Directors General of Civil Aviation Asia and Pacific Regions.
  • Mr. Alok tripathi, Joint Director General, Competition Commission of India participated in the OECD in Mongolia from 13-15 September 2017.
  • A UPSC delegation led by its Chairman Prof. David Syiemleh visited Mongolia from 18-22 October at the invitation by the Mongolian Civil Service Council.
  • A 15-member Indian boxing team including Ms. Mary Kom, MP [RS], visited Ulaanbaatar to participate in “Ulaanbaatar Cup-2017” International Tournament.
  • A 3 member Indian cross country motorbike team visited Ulaanbaatar and the Indian Embassy and was well received by local biker clubs. They travelled 9000 km so far from Tajikistan to UB.
  • DG, BSF led delegation visited Mongolia for DG level meetings. The delegation held bilateral talks with Head of the GABP and called on new Minster of Justice &Internal affairs. On conclusion of talks, both sides signed the Minutes of Meeting for implementation (November 2017).
  • Mr. Sumit Nathani, Assistant Professor, NIA, Ministry of AYUSH visited Mongolia on 15 Dec 2017 for Ayurveda Day Celebration.

Visits from Mongolia to India

  • Chairman of the Presidium U. Tsendenbal in 1959; Chairman of the Presidium Bathmunkh in March 1989; President P. Ochirbaat in February 1994; President Bagabandi in January 2001; and President Ts. Elbegdorj in September 2009;
  • Chairman of the State Great Hural N. Bagabandi in 1996; Mr. R.Gonchigdorj in November 1998; Mr. S. Tumur-Ochir on 22-26 January 2003, on the occasion of the Golden Jubilee of the Indian Parliament; and Mr. D. Demberel on 9-13 December 2010.
  • Prime Minister Mr. Tsendenbal in 1973 (He had visited in 1959 as Chairman of the Presidium); Prime Minister N. Enkhbayar paid a state visit in January 2004;
  • Deputy Prime Minister Mr. U. Khurelsukh paid a visit November 2016
  • Foreign Minister Mr. L Purevsuren paid a visit in April 2016
  • Defense Minister Mr. N. Enkhbold paid a visit in March 2018
  • Minister of Construction & Urban Development Mr. G. Munkhbayar paid a visit in December 2016
  • Leader of the Opposition N. Enkhbayar, in his capacity as the then Leader of Opposition for medical treatment of spouse and self (September 1999);                                        
MEA App Facebook Twitter Google plus Flickr Youtube